Skip to main content
Chat Feature

Communication and activity logging inside cove.tool

Patrick Chopson avatar
Written by Patrick Chopson
Updated over a week ago

The Chat Feature is a new tool in the app that allows users to share project notes, send attachments, log and track changes, and manage project teams.

How does it work?

Find the Chat Feature on the bottom left-hand side of all pages. It's a text bubble icon, the second last on the navigation bar. If you have just created a new project, you won't see the chat button until you complete the details of the first project page and click "Save & Continue." Once you click the Chat Feature button, a window slider will appear with four tabs: Chats, Log, Settings, and Team.

A. Chats - This tab allows for text communication between the project team members. Users share updates, ask questions, provide feedback, and more. Solo-pilot users can use the chat feature to leave themselves notes to archive why certain decisions might have been made. Attachments, hyperlinks, and reactions are also functionalities that can be used to communicate with the team.

B. Log - This tab is an activity log that archives every change that was made in a project. At the top of the Log window, you will see an EUI Value timeline showcasing the changes in your project's energy usage over time. If in the middle of your project analysis, you decide to change units, value conversions will automatically be updated in the activity log.

C. Settings - This tab allows users to control notification preferences. Three options are currently available: 1. Notify instantly by e-mail, 2. Daily e-mail summary, and 3. Weekly e-mail summary. These notifications include changes to the project and any comments made in the Chats tab.

D. Team - Users can invite collaborators to a project using the Team tabs, similar to the Manage Team button located at the top-right hand corner of the first project page. Add your project collaborator's email to the various roles and they'll receive an invitation to join the project. Once the person invited to collaborate accepts the email request to access the project, they will be able to view all the analyses and make changes to certain aspects (determined by their role). However, if a business has an expired subscription, no one can access their projects, not even previous collaborators.

If you do not want anyone to edit the project, click the lock button on the lower left side of the interface.

Workflows

Collaboration on projects is now easier than ever before. Here's a couple ideas on your team can utilize the chat feature to streamline your workflows.

A. Reviews - Using the chat feature senior team members can provide notes, actions and advice while reviewing the details inputs on the baseline page. By keeping these connected in the same platform there is no lag between comments and corrective action by team members!

B. Ask Questions - Now teams can ask their consultant questions live on the platform! By inviting external collaborators to the project, questions can be asked and answered on the same pages they related to!

C. Track Progress - With the log function in chat, teams can track how the energy consumption of their project changes over time. This will also highlight to the entire team what design decisions have made the greatest impact. Finally this allows users to easily track and correct any changes that may not have been intentional, returning the project to the agreed design intent!

Other Notes

The chat feature will continue to work even when the project is locked for everyone.


Related Articles

Did this answer your question?