Steps to share a Revit Model with the cove.tool troubleshooting team. 

  1. Save all changes. If necessary have the whole team "synchronize" their local file to Central and then close the file. The cove.tool support team only needs a Central file that contains all the primary envelope geometry. Sending a structural, fit-out, or other miscellaneous file/links would not be necessary. 
  2. Close the local file. Synchronize with central + Relinquishing all elements and worksets.
  3. In the Revit Home Screen, click "Open" and find the central model. Check the "Detach from Central"  prompt at the bottom of the window, and make sure the "Create New local" box is unchecked. Once opened, the file name for the model should appear as the original filename with "_detached" appended.
  4. A task dialog will launch specifying whether to preserve or discard worksets. Click the option to detach and preserve worksets.
    Note:
    When choosing to discard worksets, all worksets and related element assignments and visibility settings are discarded. These cannot be restored, and a file shared with discarded worksets will appear empty and all Revit window's blank. Also Note, after detaching from the central model, the model can no longer be synced with other user's edits to the central model. 
  5. Inside the file, purge unused objects in the model. This is an optional step, but can considerably expedite the troubleshooting process for large complex projects. Go to "Manage" tab > "Purge Unused" (under Settings panel), select "Check All" to automatically purge unnecessary model elements. Also remove unused Links. Got to "Manage" > "Manage Links" (under Manage Project panel). Click through the tabs to remove all the links (AutoCAD and Revit Links) from the file. 
  6. Save the file as a new Central. Go to "R" > "Save As" > "Project". Prefix the new project filename with "ct_...", to make it so that everyone knows at a glance which version is for sharing (ex. "ct_NewHQ2020_detached.rvt"). Before saving, open the "Options" extension and check “Make this a Central File” and “Compact File”.
    Note:
    If either options are unavailable (grayed out), worksharing is still active and the file has not been properly detached. Sharing workshared models that have not been detached and made central will not allow the cove.tool support team to properly assess and troubleshoot your project. 
  7. Once saved, click the Sync button to relinquish all the worksets and save again. There is check box in the Sync window you need to check manually to release all Worksets. The third icon to the left of the Revit logo is the sync button.
    Note: By making a new central file you become owner of all the worksets and if you do not relinquish the worksets, then the file is not usable.
  8. Close Revit and delete the backup file. You are ready to share the file. Send the newly created detached and compacted file to the cove.tool team.
    Note: Cove.tool can accept OneDrive Links, File-share links, Dropbox Shares, and Zip files via Email and/or livechat intercom box. Any method in which you typically share a BIM file with an external consultants, would also be an acceptable form to transfer a model to cove.tool. 
Did this answer your question?